EASY Beginner Vegan Recipes Part 1: Breakfast!

“I would have NO idea what to eat as a vegan!” This is the comment I get the most from people curious about veganism but nervous to take the leap. And I totally get it! I ate the same way my whole life: eggs and toast for breakfast, a sandwich with mayonnaise and some kind of processed meat for lunch, and chicken for dinner. It seems intimidating to go from a typical American diet to a vegan diet, but don’t worry! I’ve got you covered!

This week I’ve made some of my favorite easy vegan meals to share in hopes that I can help those who want to start on a vegan diet but don’t know how. I decided to do this in parts (breakfast, lunch, dinner, snacks) so that they’re easier to find and the posts won’t be forever long.

So, straight from Mama Kay’s vegan kitchen, here are some awesome healthy recipes to get y’all started! Let’s DO IT!

 

Oatmeal: If you don’t eat oatmeal already YOU NEED TO! Before switching to a plant based diet I thought oatmeal was SO gross mostly because of the texture. Now 95% of the time I eat oatmeal for breakfast! There are so many great benefits of eating oatmeal: lots of fiber to keep you full and aid digestion, decrease the risk of heart disease, decrease the risk of and lower pre-existing high cholesterol, and more. I have a few awesome recipes to make oatmeal healthy and delicious!

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

  • Peanut butter cup oats:
    • 3/4 cups of oats
    • 1 .5 cups of water
    • 2 tbsp cocoa powder
    • 2 tbsp PB2 or other powdered peanut butter
    • 1 ripe banana, chopped
    • Mix all the ingredients in a pot on high heat and bring to a boil. Once boiling, bring heat to medium-low and stir. The oats are done when the water is absorbed.
    • Top with hemp seeds, flax seeds, 1 tbsp of vegan chocolate chips and berries.

 

image1 (6).JPG
Odin’s favorite so far! Pumpkin pie oats!

 

  • Pumpkin Pie Oats
    • 3/4 cups of oats
    • 1.5 cups of water
    • 1 ripe banana, chopped
    • 1/2 cup of pumpkin
    • cinnamon
    • Mix ingredients together in a pot on high heat and bring to a boil. Turn to medium-low until cooked.
    • Top with hemp seeds, cinnamon, and 1tbsp of pure maple syrup.
  • Apple Pie Oats
    • 3/4 cups of oats
    • 1.5 cups of water
    • 1 ripe banana, chopped
    • 1/2 an apple, chopped
    • apple pie spice, or cinnamon and nutmeg
    • Mix ingredients in a pot on high heat. Bring to a boil then turn to medium-low until cooked.
    • Top with apple pie spice and 1 tbsp of maple syrup.

Parfaits: these are so easy to make! If you’re a busy mom or have to jet off to work in the mornings this one is perfect! All you need a 0.5-1 cup of coconut, almond, or soy yogurt, chopped fruit of your choice, and muesli or granola. I prefer muesli because there are options with no sugar added.

Smoothie bowl: I love these for the summer or after I eat a meal with oil the night before. So refreshing and yummy!

  • Blend one frozen banana, a handful of frozen strawberries or other fruit, and 1 cup of frozen spinach with water until smooth.
  • Top with a chopped fresh fruit and muesli or granola.

Banana nice cream: YES EVERYONE!!! You can have ice cream for breakfast! Banana nice cream is just a thicker smoothie but when you eat it, it feels like dessert. It doesn’t get any better than that!

  • Peanut butter cup nice cream
    • 2 frozen bananas
    • 2 tbsp of cocoa powder
    • 2 tbsp of PB2
    • Blend with small amounts of water until smooth. Top with muesli and 1 tbsp of vegan chocolate chips.
  • If you don’t like too much chocolate in the morning, you can make it plain or spice it with cinnamon.
  • To make this into a milkshake, blend with 1 cup of plant milk. Also a favorite of mine!

Tofu scramble: This is what I make when I want a savory, warm, non- oatmeal breakfast. I have done a lot of trial and error and this is my best tofu scramble recipe! I don’t measure out my spices, unfortunately. I usually just do an even coat of spices over the tofu, mix, and spice it to taste.

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

  • Use a non-stick pan or a pan with a small amount of Earth Balance butter, coconut oil etc. Preheat on medium.
  • Drain and press tofu, I use the extra firm fortified tofu. I make the whole package if it’s for both Carlos and me, 1/3 if it’s just me.
  • Crumble tofu into the pre-heated pain.
  • Coat with:
    • garlic powder
    • onion powder
    • turmeric (this makes it look “eggy”)
    • 1/2-1 tsp of soy sauce
    • a sprinkle of lemon juice, can substitute 1/2 tsp of apple cider vinegar
    • paprika
    • pepper
    • nutritional yeast
  • Cook until browned.
  • In this picture I made home fries for 2:
    • 3 idaho potatoes
    • garlic powder
    • onion powder
    • italian spices
    • Bake at 400 deg F or 20 minutes
  • You can also have this with avocado toast or toast with vegan butter!

Also check out Mama Kay’s best vegan scrambled eggs! I used the Follow Your Heart vegan egg for that recipe and its one of my favorites for a special breakfast!

Keep an eye out for my lunch recipes coming up soon.

Thanks for reading! ❤

Signature

 

 

Leave a Reply

