Mama Kay’s best vegan scrambled eggs

Carlos and I one day plan to open a bakery and/ or restaurant which I affectionately have already named “Mama Kay’s” so all my recipes from here on will be Mam Kay’s somethin- or- other 😉

ANYWAY. I know there are lots of you out there who are “but bacon” people who refuse to give up animal products because you love a good ol’ fashioned breakfast. Maybe you love animals and want to save them but also enjoy breakfast meats and eggs. Oh boy, do I have the meal for you!

*Quick fun fact, did you know that processed meats (i.e. Bacon and sausage) are group 1 carcinogenics? Yup! That is the same group as tobacco smoking and asbestos! (see source here) Luckily you can have a delicious breakfast without increasing your risk of cancer, heart disease, high cholesterol and diabetes 🙂

So let’s get to it! Here’s Mama Kay’s Best Darn Vegan Scramble Egg Breakfast! It’s just like your classic American breakfast but better. (this is not intended to be a healthy meal necessarily, just tasty!)

What you need:

  • Vegan butter 
  • Shiitake mushrooms
  • Jalapeños 
  • Clove of garlic 
  • Follow Your Heart’s vegan egg 
  • Cracked black pepper 
  • Vegan bread 
  • Gardein vegan sausage patties 

Melt the vegan butter in a large pan on medium heat. I use Earth Balance! It tastes just like dairy butter in my opinion. 


Remove the stems from the mushrooms. Then wash and chop them into large pieces. Next, chop the jalapeños. We used 2 and our eggs were plenty spicy! If you want them more mild I’d use 1 or remove the seeds. Be careful not to touch the seeds, by the way. I did that once and my hands felt like they were on fire! Next mince the garlic clove and add to the pan. Sauté until fragrant about 1 minute. Then add the mushrooms and jalapeños to the pan. Begin sautéing immediately. Let the veggies get golden brown. 


While the veggies are cooking, prepare the Gardein breakfast parties according to the package instructions. We made 3, I eat one and Carlos eats 2. 


When the veggies are almost done cooking, begin making the vegan eggs. I made 3 according to the package instructions. I used 1.5 cups of ice water from the fridge dispenser with 6 tbsp of the mix to make about 3 eggs. 


I know a lot of people haven’t tried these eggs so I’m going to include a quick review. I’m not really an egg person, especially not since becoming vegan but Carlos still eats eggs for breakfast almost every day, which is why I bought these things in the first place. When he first tried these he said they taste just like eggs! Score one for Follow Your Heart! I haven’t used it for baking yet but as scrambled eggs, these are spot on. They smell just like eggs too which is gross, but A+ for authenticity. I think these are great especially for someone transitioning to veganism. If you’re curious, try them out! I got them at Publix in the baking aisle. 

Back to the recipe! 

After whisking the mixture into the water, add the mix to the pan with the veggies. Begin scrambling immediately. I add cracked black pepper and more garlic powder (I like garlic, ok??) on top as well. 

These take longer than regular eggs to cook. I usually mix them intermittently in the pan for about 10 minutes, then let them sit on low- med for about 5 minutes stirring occasionally while I make my toast and prepare anything else we’re having with breakfast. Quick tip- these will seem super runny on the pan, but once they sit for a minute or so they will become firm and “eggy”. 


This is what the finished meal looks like: 


I just buttered my toast (groundbreaking!) and put about 1/2 tsp of maple syrup on my breakfast patty. You may want to add some seat salt to the eggs, and I I’d bet they would be great with FYH vegan cheese 👌🏼

That’s it, y’all! Mama Kays famous all American breakfast. SO good. So filling. So omnivore friendly! Yum. 

I’m planning on doing some recipes for meat lovers who want to transition to veganism soon, look out for that one! 

Thanks for reading ❤

Kailey 

Leave a Reply

