Postpartum fitness

I’ve been having a really hard time finding motivation to workout lately. Some nights I don’t get much sleep and other days I feel like I can’t put Odin down without him crying. Don’t get me wrong I love that he wants to  be with me all day, especially because one day he won’t want to cuddle his mama all day. But some days I don’t even get to shower because I’m so busy with him!

A few days ago I went to the trails nearby with Odin in the carrier because I just couldn’t find time to work out otherwise! I used to walk the trails with Sam (my doggie) all the time while I was pregnant and it was so nice to do it again! img_5535

I absolutely love being outside when the weather is as beautiful as it has been! I couldn’t stop taking pictures because it was so beautiful.

I always feel so great when I get up and moving. I’m really working on getting out for an hour long walk almost every day but anyone with a baby with confirm that it can be pretty hard! I do, however, workout for at least 15 minutes every day. My rule is if I didn’t work out yesterday, I need to work out again unless I worked out 5 days in a row. I’m easing back into Nike training club app which is an app that has workouts and guides you through them. I did it when I was in great shape freshman year of college and kind of stopped doing them for a few years until I was pregnant and stuck at home without a gym membership. The workouts are really challenging and have varying intensities.

When I don’t feel like doing NTC, I do short workouts on YouTube. I like to do yoga 1-2 times a week because it really does work you! I don’t realize how weak I am until I do yoga haha!  I also like the bikini model workouts (sounds dumb, I know) because when you’re a mama trying to get in shape, the best workouts are the ones with the highest intensity in the shortest amount of time. I have a bunch on my YouTube channel here.

I am also starting a new  diet whenever its time for me to go food shopping again. Its the Lean and Clean diet by Hannah Howlett and its basically HCLF (high carb low fat) and SOS free (salt, oil, sugar) and vegan. And if you’re like me you’re thinking “So…what the heck CAN you eat?” I was so deterred from this diet initially, even though I know it must work, because of the limits; however, the plan is only 14 days long so its really doable. Basically you can eat any whole plant foods. So fruits, veggies, rice, beans, ALL THE POTATOES (I really love potatoes). And no oil, salt or sugar. The oil has been the easiest for me to cut out and the salt has been the hardest! Hannah explains why cutting out these things is essential for weight loss but the film Food Choices on Netflix helps explain as well. I have a whole list of great vegan documentaries but I’ll save that for another post.

I bought the guide 50% off on black Friday and got her recipe ebook for $5! I’ve been using some of her recipes recently to ease myself into the diet and they’re super yummy. I’m really excited to go full force into this way of eating, living and thinking. I have a bad habit of getting in my own way when it comes to weight loss and honestly I’m so tired of it. I want to change the way I look at food and dieting so that I am excited about eating healthy, nutritious foods that nourish my body and make me feel good. I want my hubby to have a wife that is not only hot (MILF status πŸ˜‰ ) but also CONFIDENT. Hannah talks a lot about living your life like you’re already where you’re at- by eating, feeling, exercising like someone who is fit, happy and healthy. I love this idea and I’ve never tried it before so I’m excited to try it out. I’ve been going in the direction of better health for years and now I feel like this is getting to the most simple, basic and healthful diet possible. I’m so excited for the challenge and great change to come!

Lastly, I’m trying to run more often and for longer. Odin is 10 weeks old now and I’ve only run once a week since he was 6 weeks. I’ve gotten my mile down from 12:40 to 11:40 and today I was able to run for the entirety of the mile which is pretty sad but an improvement! Before I was pregnant/ knew I was pregnant Carlos and I would compete and try to get more miles on Nike Running App. I would run 2+ miles per run 3+ days a week. I really love running so I’m happy I’m going in the right direction. If I don’t do the Jingle Bell Run 5K in December I want to do one in the spring. Eventually I hope to make my way up to a half marathon (eek!) For me I need goals to meet in order for me to be motivated.

Well that’s pretty much where I am with my postpartum goals/ nutrition/ fitness. Its a work in progress so I am just trying to give myself some grace in the process.

Until next time,

Kailey

Leave a Reply

